24 grains and flours not safe for a GF diet-
Is a Registered Dietitian, board certified as a Specialist in Pediatric Nutrition. She founded Atlanta Pediatric Nutrition and joined the GI Care for Kids team, providing nutrition counseling to patients and families.
A gluten-free diet is intended to be that: entirely gluten-free, but sometimes it is hard to know which grains you can and cannot eat. Below is a list of grains and ingredients that you should steer clear of to avoid gluten getting into your diet. We also have a list of good grains for a gluten-free diet to check out as well!
Grains and flours that are not allowed:
*Includes extract, flavoring, syrup and vinegar
**Includes meal, farfel and flour
***Includes bran, flour, germ, gluten and starch
Foods/ingredients that may or may not contain gluten:
|Breading, coating mixes||Imitation bacon||Soup base|
|Brown rice syrup||Luncheon meats||Soups|
|Cereal products||Roux||Communion wafers|
|Soy sauce||Cracker meal||Self-basting poultry|
Other potential gluten sources:
|Medications||Vitamin and mineral supplements|
*Gluten does not pass through the skin. One should ensure proper hand washing to ensure gluten on the skin is not ingested when fingers are put in the mouth or food is eaten with unclean hands.
Subscribe Be the first to know